The Red List of Threatened Species (or conservation assessment) is an objective methodology to assess the conservation status of different taxonomic groups. Guidelines for the production of Red Lists at the regional level, applying consistent categories and criteria, have been developed by the International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources (IUCN), and are adopted in Ireland. The National Biodiversity Data Centre has also published a standard approach for the production of Red Lists in Ireland: Ireland’s Red Lists – a national standard.

As programme of Red Lists are being produced for the island of Ireland, under the guidance of National Parks and Wildlife Service (NPWS) in the Republic and Northern Ireland Environment Agency in Northern Ireland. Details of the Red Lists programme and the published Red Lists are available for download from the website of National Parks and Wildlife Service.

Ireland Red List No. 13: Stonefly (Plecoptera)

Ireland Red List No. 12: Mammals

Ireland Red List No. 11: Cartilaginous fish [sharks, skates, rays and chimaeras]

Ireland Red List No. 10: Vascular Plants

Ireland Red List No.9: Macro-Moths (Lepidoptera)

Ireland Red List No.8: Bryophytes.

Ireland Red List No.7: Mayflies (Ephemeroptera).

Ireland Red List No.6: Damselflies & Dragonflies (Odonata).

Ireland Red List No.5: Amphibians, Reptiles & Freshwater Fish.

Ireland Red List No.4: Butterflies.

Ireland Red List No.3: Terrestrial Mammals.

Ireland Red List No.2: Non-marine Molluscs

Ireland Red List No.1: Water Beetles

Regional Red List of Irish Bees.

Irish Red Data Book – Vascular Plants.